NPWT Evidence Library
NPWT Evidence Library › Wound types › Infected wounds needing instillation (NPWTi-d)

Infected wounds needing instillation (NPWTi-d)

NPWT with instillation (NPWTi-d) — infected wounds needing cleansing

The evidence position reflects the current international evidence, not any guideline or society position.

A cross-cutting modality rather than a single anatomical indication: NPWT plus cyclic instillation and dwell for any wound that needs cleansing — infection, foreign material, heavy slough, or a bed needing extensive granulation.

Protocol (PDF)All 67 sourcesReferences (RIS)Spreadsheet (CSV)

Evidence in one minute

What the evidence supports

  • Compared with standard NPWT, adding instillation increased complete wound closure (OR 2.0) and reduced complications (OR 0.42) (De Pellegrin 2023; 13 studies, 871 patients; orthoplastic wounds).
  • In infected wounds of admitted patients, closure before discharge was 94% vs 62% (Kim 2014).
  • In the largest randomised trial (132 acute traumatic wounds), instillation closed wounds 3.9 days sooner than standard NPWT, GRADE Moderate, but more grafts were lost (20.5% vs 4.9%) (Milcheski 2025).
  • An international consensus sets the solutions: saline for most wounds, an antiseptic first where there are signs of infection (Kim 2019).

Uncertain or not shown

  • Fewer trips to theatre is not established: two of three meta-analyses found no reduction in surgical debridements (Wang 2023; De Pellegrin 2023).
  • In randomised trials only, there was no difference in healing, closure or length of stay (Wang 2023, 8 trials).
  • Complete bacterial clearance occurred in under a quarter of wounds, and bacterial counts did not fall significantly in surgical wounds (Diehm 2020).
  • There is no cost-effectiveness evidence (De Pellegrin 2023).

Harms and cautions

  • In acute traumatic wounds, instillation closed wounds sooner but with more graft loss (20.5% vs 4.9%; Milcheski 2025): step down to standard NPWT before grafting.

Do not use when

  • Over skin grafts or dermal substitutes, where a seal cannot be held, or in an acutely ischaemic wound (Kim 2019).
  • In place of surgical debridement and antibiotics: instillation cleanses; it does not debride.
Usual settings: −125 mmHg; saline, hypochlorous acid or PHMB; dwell 6–20 minutes; hydrophilic (ester) foam; step down to standard NPWT once cleansing goals are met. Where a vessel or vascular graft lies in the wound, this library's setting is −100 mmHg or less (reasons in protocol 1).

Key studies

RCTGRADE ⊕⊕⊕◯ Moderate2025Supports NPWT

The largest randomised instillation trial: wounds closed 3.9 days sooner than with standard NPWT, but more grafts were lost (20.5% vs 4.9%)

Effectiveness of negative-pressure wound therapy with instillation compared to standard negative-pressure wound therapy and traditional gauze layer dressing for the treatment of acute traumatic wounds: a randomized controlled trial — Milcheski DA, Clivatti GM, Santos Junior RA, Gonzalez CVS, Monteiro AA Jr, Gemperli R · Journal of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery 2025;100:208-218
What it found
OutcomeGauze (40)NPWT (41)NPWTi-d (39)p printedRecomputed
Wound closure time, days11.7 (10.8)10.0 (6.6)6.1 (3.7)< 0.001 overallNPWTi-d vs NPWT MD −3.90 (−6.28 to −1.52), p 0.0017; NPWT vs gauze MD −1.70 (−5.68 to +2.28), p 0.397
Number of surgical procedures6.2 (6.2)3.5 (1.7)3.0 (2.6)< 0.001 overallNPWTi-d vs NPWT MD −0.50 (−1.49 to +0.49), p 0.315
Length of hospital stay, days26.2 (23.8)27.8 (20.1)24.7 (21.2)0.277ANOVA p 0.816 — flat
Amputation6 (15.0%)3 (7.3%)6 (15.4%)0.468NPWTi-d vs NPWT Fisher 0.306, RR 2.10 (0.56 to 7.83)
Infection6 (15.0%)7 (17.1%)3 (7.7%)0.438NPWTi-d vs NPWT Fisher 0.313, RD −9.4% (−23.6 to +4.9)
Graft loss5 (12.5%)2 (4.9%)8 (20.5%)0.109 (3-group)NPWTi-d vs NPWT Fisher 0.045; per graft performed 8/28 vs 2/32, Fisher 0.035, RD +22.3% (+3.6 to +41.0)
Flap loss3 (7.5%)1 (2.4%)2 (5.1%)0.581printed total of 5 does not equal 3+1+2 = 6
Death (analysed set)2 (5.0%)02 (5.1%)0.544not reproducible from the printed cells; exact test gives 0.393
Death (reconstructed, all randomised)3/41 (7.3%)1/47 (2.1%)6/44 (13.6%)not reportedNPWTi-d vs NPWT Fisher 0.054, RD +11.5% (+0.6 to +22.5)
Limitations
  • The procedure-count outcome is a protocol artefact (boxed above).
  • Deaths were removed from the analysis set as loss to follow-up. Table 4 reports 4 deaths; the CONSORT diagram removes 5 more as "lost to follow-up" — 4 of them in the instillation arm — plus 1 before treatment. Deaths are not loss to follow-up. Reconstructed mortality among all randomised is 6/44 versus 1/47 versus 3/41.
  • A nominally significant harm signal is reported only as a non-significant three-group p. Graft loss 20.5% versus 4.9% reaches Fisher p = 0.045 whole-arm and 0.035 per graft performed on 2x2 tests the paper does not perform. Neither graft loss, nor amputation, nor mortality appears in the abstract or the conclusion.
  • The Results text and the abstract both state that 120 patients were randomised. 132 were (44 / 47 / 41). 39 + 41 + 40 = 120 is the analysed set.
  • Table 1, crushing injury: 0 + 3 + 6 = 9 against a printed total of 5, and the instillation etiology column then sums to 43 against n = 39. Substituting 2 (5.1%) reconciles both, and the printed 6 (15.4%) duplicates the open-fracture cell directly above it.
  • Table 4, flap loss: 3 + 1 + 2 = 6 (5.0%) against a printed total of 5 (4.2%). The printed p reproduces from the cells, so the total is the error.
  • Table 4, death p = 0.544 is not reproducible from (2, 0, 2) — exact test 0.393, chi-square 0.342. A brute-force search finds 0.544 arises only from (1,0,1) or (2,2,0).
  • Three Table 1 p-values do not reproduce, including both categorical header tests (0.057 against about 0.22; 0.362 against 0.10 to 0.26).
  • Closure types are not mutually exclusive but are presented as if they were: 32 + 85 + 32 = 149 closure events among 120 patients, so at least 29 patients had two or more. The abstract nonetheless states that "all patients underwent definitive wound closure" while 15 were amputated and 4 died.
  • The regression model's reference category, "partial avulsion", does not exist in Table 1. Two covariates in the model are absent from the Methods' pre-stated list and are collinear with two others entered simultaneously. R² is 23.9%, adjusted 11.4%, at 7.1 observations per predictor. A footnote reading "Odds Ratio: Probability ratio" is attached to a linear regression table containing no odds ratio.
  • 58 p-values with adjustment applied only within the first two primary outcomes. No adjustment across the three co-primaries, none for the nine secondary outcomes, none for the 17 regression coefficients. The power calculation uses alpha 0.025 while Table 3 flags significance at 0.05.
  • The pairwise test method changes between rows of the same table — Steel-Dwass for the first two primary outcomes, unadjusted Mann-Whitney for the third.
  • Four mis-citations in the Discussion. Gabriel 2014's "4.1 vs 20.9 days" is quoted as length of stay when it is that paper's therapy duration and time to closure (its stay figures are 8.1 vs 27.4). Timmer 2022's 1.6 to 16.8 day range is attributed to four observational studies when it belongs to eleven, and Timmer's own conclusion — that evidence is insufficient to support or discard instillation for infected wounds — is not quoted. Wang 2023's quoted −0.43 does not appear in the source. Two of the three cited "randomized trials comparing NPWTi-d to NPWT" used continuous irrigation without a dwell phase and are therefore not NPWTi-d at all.
  • No retracted reference — all 24 checked, 21 PubMed-indexed, all clean. The Wang cited here is not the retracted Wang 2020.
  • Manufacturer role. "3M Brazil and Global provided financial support, including the supply of dressings used in the NPWT and NPWTi-d groups, Ulta machines, and funding for a clinical nurse", with a statement that funders had no role in data collection — alongside an acknowledgment of KCI Brazil staff "for their support in obtaining financial support" and 3M Brazil "for the administrative and logistical support during the development of the project". The author credited with project logistics, randomisation administration and data collection declares "personal fees from 3M related to the study."
  • The same 120 patients have been republished as an economic analysis with two device-manufacturer employees as co-authors — Milcheski DA, Collinsworth AW (Solventum), Lookess S (Solventum), Santos RA, Amaral BCS, Gemperli R. Int Wound J 2026;23(7):e70994, doi:10.1111/iwj.70994, PMID 42410326. Any future meta-analysis must not count both. Collinsworth is also reference 6 of this trial.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 2 · Start High (randomised, 132 patients, three arms, four-year enrolment). For wound closure time, -1 risk of bias: no blinding of any party and no blinded endpoint assessment, with definitive closure decided 'when the wound was considered clean based on the same criteria' - a subjective, unblinded surgeon judgement; complete-case analysis with 12 of 132 (9.1%) excluded post-randomisation; and two eligibility criteria ('failure to collect intraoperative cultures', 'changing of surgical management') that can only be determined after allocation and after the first operation, so they are post-randomisation exclusions presented as eligibility criteria. Precision is not downgraded: the NPWTi-d versus NPWT difference is a mean difference of -3.90 days (95% CI -6.28 to -1.52, Hedges g -0.72), the sample size calculation reproduces exactly (n = 36 per group at alpha 0.025, 80% power, delta 3 days, SD 4), and enrolment exceeded it. Net moderate. For the number of surgical procedures, -3: the outcome is arithmetically determined by an arm-specific, protocol-mandated debridement interval. Dividing each arm's own reported closure time by its own protocol interval and adding the index operation gives 3.03, 3.50 and 6.85 against reported means of 3.0, 3.5 and 6.2 - an exact match to two significant figures in both NPWT arms. The endpoint is a deterministic function of closure time and a co-intervention frequency the protocol set, not an independent outcome. The Discussion concedes the mechanism and then asserts the opposite - that the difference 'reflects the debridement frequency and also the superior effectiveness of this method' - with no analysis separating the two. Compounding this, the NPWTi-d versus NPWT comparison is p = 0.002 by the printed rank test and p = 0.315 by A t-TEST on the paper's own means and standard deviations (mean difference -0.50, 95% CI -1.49 to +0.49). Net very low. For the harm signals, -2 for imprecision and selective reporting: graft loss 20.5% against 4.9% reaches Fisher p = 0.045 whole-arm and 0.035 per graft actually performed on 2x2 tests the paper does not perform and reports only as a non-significant three-group p of 0.109; amputation 15.4% against 7.3%; and reconstructed mortality among all randomised of 6/44 (13.6%) against 1/47 (2.1%), Fisher p = 0.054, risk difference +11.5% (+0.6 to +22.5). None of this appears in the abstract or the conclusion. Net Low - a signal to hold, not a finding to act on.

Figures: Figures checked

Milcheski DA, Clivatti GM, Santos Junior RA, Gonzalez CVS, Monteiro AA Jr, Gemperli R. Effectiveness of negative-pressure wound therapy with instillation compared to standard negative-pressure wound therapy and traditional gauze layer dressing for the treatment of acute traumatic wounds: A randomized controlled trial. Journal of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery. 2025;100:208-218.
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-07-31
Meta-analysis / SRGRADE ⊕◯◯◯ Very low2023Supports NPWT

NPWTi-d in orthoplastic surgery: systematic review and meta-analysis

Effects of negative pressure wound therapy with instillation and dwell time (NPWTi-d) versus NPWT or standard of care in orthoplastic surgery: A systematic review and meta-analysis — De Pellegrin L, Feltri P, Filardo G, Candrian C, Harder Y, Galetti K, et al · International Wound Journal 2023;20(6):2402–2413
What it found
  • Complete wound closure: OR 2.006 (95% CI 1.315–3.058), P = .023, favouring NPWTi-d.
  • Complications: OR 0.421 (95% CI 0.260–0.683), P = .025, favouring NPWTi-d.
  • Number of surgical debridements: no significant difference (P = .2146, 95% CI 0.4–1.3).
  • Bacterial burden: 5 of 6 studies reporting bioburden or bacterial count favoured NPWTi-d.
  • Descriptive (not pooled): mean therapy length 10.3 days with NPWTi-d versus 20.9 days with NPWT; mean hospital stay 21.3 versus 30.5 days. Length of stay was formally investigated in a single study only.
  • Cost-effectiveness: the authors state that the literature provides no evidence of the cost-effectiveness of NPWTi-d, and that their own cost data rest on one study.
  • The authors conclude that limited study quality means randomised trials are still needed to confirm the benefit and define recommendations.
Limitations
  • The abstract and conclusion say the meta-analysis "proves" superiority. It does not. Pooling 13 mostly non-randomised studies the authors themselves score as low quality supports an association, not proof, and the wording is overclaimed — do not reproduce it.
  • Substantial clinical heterogeneity: different anatomical regions, wound sizes, closure techniques and control dressings. Only three outcomes could be pooled at all.
  • Short follow-up in several studies plausibly under-reports late complications, biasing the complication result in favour of NPWTi-d.
  • Orthoplastic and trauma population; no vascular graft, groin or diabetic-foot-specific analysis. Transfer to a vascular indication by mechanism, and say so.
  • One included study (Kim 2020) contributed two arms and was counted twice.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 3 · Three outcomes were pooled and the headline is not pooled on thirteen studies. Complete wound closure OR 2.006 (95% CI 1.315 to 3.058, P = .023) comes from six of the thirteen studies, stated in the results as 'out of the 13 studies reviewed, six studies were suitable for the meta-analysis regarding the rate of complete wound closure'. The number of patients behind those six is never printed. Complications OR 0.421 (95% CI 0.260 to 0.683, P = .025) is reported without any study count at all. Surgical debridements show no difference — And are reported with a p value and a confidence interval (p = .2146, 95% CI 0.4 to 1.3) but no point estimate. 871 patients is the review total, it reconciles internally (393 + 478 = 871; 511 males + 317 females + 43 unknown = 871), and it is not the denominator of any pooled estimate. Heterogeneity is specified as a method and then never reported. The statistical section states that Cochran's Q and I-squared were computed and that I-squared of 25 per cent or more would trigger a random-effects model — Yet no i-squared value appears anywhere in the results for any of the three pooled outcomes, and tau-squared is never mentioned. Heterogeneity is therefore neither explained nor even disclosed. A unit-of-analysis error is declared and not corrected: one study contributing two NPWTi-d dwell-time arms was 'considered twice', which counts its shared control arm twice in the pooled denominators. GRADE begins Low for a body of predominantly non-randomised comparative evidence and falls to Very low for risk of bias, which the authors themselves grade as limited, and for the undisclosed heterogeneity. The abstract's claim that the meta-analysis 'proves that NPWTi-d is superior' is a causal statement that eleven non-randomised studies cannot carry.

Figures: Figures checked

De Pellegrin L, Feltri P, Filardo G, Candrian C, Harder Y, Galetti K, De Monti M. Effects of negative pressure wound therapy with instillation and dwell time (NPWTi-d) versus NPWT or standard of care in orthoplastic surgery: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Int Wound J. 2023;20(6):2402–2413.
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-07-27
Meta-analysis / SRGRADE ⊕⊕◯◯ Low2023Supports NPWT

NPWTi-d vs standard NPWT (open access)

Clinical outcomes of negative pressure wound therapy with instillation vs standard negative pressure wound therapy for wounds: a meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials — Wang G, Xu H, Xu G, Zhang H, Li Z, Liu D · International Wound Journal
What it found
  • NPWTi-d required significantly fewer surgeries / dressing changes than standard NPWT (P<0.05).
  • Significantly greater wound-area reduction after treatment with NPWTi-d (P<0.05).
  • No significant difference in healing rate, time to heal, length of stay, dehiscence, reinfection, reoperation or readmission.
Limitations
  • Heterogeneity across trials; benefit on hard endpoints (healing, closure) not demonstrated.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 1 · Ten outcomes, each with its own denominator, and not one of them is 564. Number of surgeries and dressing changes MD minus 0.43 (95% CI minus 0.80 to minus 0.05) on 5 RCTs and 404 patients. Wound area after treatment MD minus 9.31 (95% CI minus 17.54 to minus 1.08) on only 2 RCTs and 198 PATIENTS. Time to heal 3 RCTs, 251 patients, null. Length of stay 3 RCTs, 198 patients, null. Healed at end of study RR 1.14 (0.94 to 1.39) on 4 RCTs, null. Dehiscence RR 0.82 (0.65 to 1.03) on 4 RCTs and 385 patients, null. Reinfection RR 1.04 (0.61 to 1.78), reoperation RR 0.79 (0.48 to 1.29) and readmission RR 0.77 (0.54 to 1.10), each on 3 RCTs and 353 patients, all null. Pseudomonas at end RR 1.00 (0.22 to 4.47) on 2 RCTs and 68 patients, null. Eight of the ten outcomes are null. The abstract misreports its own primary result. It prints the surgeries and dressing-changes result as 'RR and 95% CI, minus 9.31 [minus 17.54, minus 1.08]' — Which is the wound-area mean difference pasted into the wrong row — and labels a mean difference as a risk ratio. The results section gives the correct figure, minus 0.43. Anyone quoting this paper from its abstract will quote a number twenty-one times too large. A FURTHER DISCREPANCY: the healed-at-end outcome is 294 patients in Table 2 and 394 in the results text. Both significant results are fragile by the authors' own testing. Heterogeneity for the surgeries outcome is significant (P for heterogeneity below 0.05), and omitting any single one of four trials — Davis 2020, Gonzalez 2020, Jurkovic 2019 or Lavery 2020 — abolishes its significance, with I-squared running 68 to 84 per cent in those runs. The authors write that 'there was the possibility that the result may be a false positive'. Tau-squared is never reported. Downgrade from High for risk of bias (blinding impossible and rated high risk across the pool) and for inconsistency: Low.

Figures: Figures checked

Wang G, Xu H, Xu G, Zhang H, Li Z, Liu D. Clinical outcomes of negative pressure wound therapy with instillation vs standard negative pressure wound therapy for wounds: a meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials. Int Wound J. 2023;20(5):1739–1749.
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-09-18
Cohort / comparativeGRADE ⊕◯◯◯ Very low2014Supports NPWT

NPWT with instillation vs standard NPWT for infected wounds

The Impact of Negative-Pressure Wound Therapy with Instillation Compared with Standard Negative-Pressure Wound Therapy: A Retrospective, Historical, Cohort, Controlled Study — Kim PJ, Attinger CE, Steinberg JS, Evans KK, Powers KA, Hung RW, et al · Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
What it found
  • Fewer operative visits with NPWTi: 2.4±0.9 (6-min) and 2.6±0.9 (20-min) vs 3.0±0.9 for standard NPWT (p≤0.05) (p.709, Table 3).
  • Shorter hospital stay for the 20-min group: 11.4±5.1 vs 14.92±9.23 days (p=0.034) (p.709, p.711).
  • Shorter time to final surgical procedure for both NPWTi groups (7.8±5.2 and 7.5±3.1 days) vs 9.23±5.2 days (p≤0.05) (p.709).
  • Higher percentage of wounds closed before discharge with 6-min NPWTi: 94% vs 62% (p=0.0004) (Table 3, p.712).
  • Culture improvement (Gram-negatives, Corynebacterium and yeast excluded) significantly greater with 6-min NPWTi: 90% vs 63% (p=0.0001); overall culture improvement not significantly different (p.712-713).
  • 30-day post-discharge closure rates were statistically similar between groups, arguing against premature-closure bias (p.714).
Limitations
  • Retrospective, historical-control design with potential selection bias (NPWTi possibly chosen for more infected wounds); single institution.
  • Comorbidities taken from records without diagnostic confirmation; swab-culture limitations; dwell-time comparison inconclusive (exact dwell time may not be a major factor).
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 4 · The resource-use results are real and modest; the culture result is null on the analysis the paper pre-specified, and this library has not been carrying that. Every estimate, with denominators. Operative visits 3.0 (SD 0.9) for standard NPWT against 2.4 (SD 0.9) at 6-minute dwell (P = 0.04) and 2.6 (SD 0.9) at 20-minute dwell (P = 0.003). Hospital stay 14.92 (SD 9.2) days against 11.9 (SD 7.8) — P = 0.10, not SIGNIFICANT — and 11.4 (SD 5.1), P = 0.03. Time to final surgical procedure 9.23 (SD 5.2) against 7.8 (SD 5.2), P = 0.04, and 7.5 (SD 3.1), P = 0.002. Wounds closed before discharge 46/74 (62%) against 32/34 (94%), P = 0.0004, and 27/34 (80%), P = 0.08, not significant. The durability of that closure is the finding the abstract does not carry. Remained closed at one month: 28/46 (61%) after standard NPWT, 24/32 (75%) at 6-minute dwell (P = 0.23) and 14/27 (52%) at 20-minute dwell (P = 0.47). On the whole randomised-equivalent denominator that is 28/74 (38%), 24/34 (71%) and 14/34 (41%) — The 20-MINUTE arm, the arm with the shorter stay, ended the month with 41% of its patients closed against 38% for standard NPWT. The bioburden result is null as pre-specified. Overall culture improvement 28/74 (38%) against 20/34 (59%), P = 0.06, and 17/34 (50%), P = 0.30 — Neither instillation arm improved cultures significantly. A difference appears only after excluding gram-negative organisms, Corynebacterium and yeast, which cuts the denominators to 27, 21 and 20, and only in the 6-minute arm: 17/27 (63%) against 19/21 (90%), P = 0.0001, while the 20-minute arm was 13/20 (65%) against 63%, P = 0.77. Cultures were QUALITATIVE swabs graded from heavy to scant growth. Loss to follow-up is not stated and cannot be recovered: the one-month outcome exists only for the 105 patients closed before discharge, so 37 of 142 contribute nothing to it. Disclosure, verbatim: 'Dr. Kim is a consultant for Kinetic Concepts, Inc. Dr. Attinger is an uncompensated consultant for Kinetic Concepts, Inc. Dr. Lavery has received past research funding from Kinetic Concepts, Inc. The other authors have no financial interest to declare in relation to the content of this article.' No funding statement appears.

Figures: Figures checked

Kim PJ, Attinger CE, Steinberg JS, Evans KK, Powers KA, Hung RW, Smith JR, Rocha ZM, Lavery L. The Impact of Negative-Pressure Wound Therapy with Instillation Compared with Standard Negative-Pressure Wound Therapy: A Retrospective, Historical, Cohort, Controlled Study. Plast Reconstr Surg. 2014;133(3):709-716.
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-09-18
Guideline / consensusGuideline quality 3/72019Context

NPWTi-d international consensus guidelines update

Negative pressure wound therapy with instillation: international consensus guidelines update — Kim PJ, Attinger CE, Constantine T, Crist BD, Faust E, Hirche CR, et al · International Wound Journal 2020;17(1):174–186
What it found
  • Solution. Normal saline is the recommended first-choice instillation solution for the majority of wounds; instillation of saline achieved outcomes comparable to antiseptics in the reviewed evidence. Several panel members preferred an antiseptic (hypochlorous acid or sodium hypochlorite) as the initial solution where there are clinical signs of infection, stepping down to saline after 24–48 hours. 0.04% polyhexanide should not be instilled directly on cartilage — the restriction is cartilage-specific and conditional: the source says "unless it has been strongly diluted (0.005%) to prevent damage to the cartilage". (Corrected 2026-07-29: this page previously generalised the restriction to "exposed structures" and omitted the dilution proviso. The panel's separate contraindication list covers exposed unprotected organs and vessels, undrained abscesses and split-thickness grafts — those are different statements.)
  • Not recommended. The panel recommended against NPWTi-d over skin grafts or dermal substitutes (the instilled fluid disrupts the bolster function), where an intact seal cannot be maintained, and — for most panel members — in acutely ischaemic wounds because of the underlying perfusion deficit.
  • Panel members also advised against instillation of topical solutions not compatible with NPWTi-d foam dressings and disposables; use manufacturer-specified dwell times and concentrations.
  • Recommendations are framed as a refinement of, not a departure from, the original NPWTi-d parameter set.
Limitations
  • Expert consensus (level 5), not pooled primary evidence; agreement threshold >80% among a 13-member panel.
  • The panel was convened with industry involvement, and the PDF filed here carries a "3M Internal Educational Use" watermark; the journal article itself is open access. Treat device-specific naming (V.A.C. Veraflo) as commercial.
  • Several statements are explicitly flagged in the paper as requiring further study to confirm.
Appraisal and reference

AGREE II: Recommended with modifications — Scope 67% · Stakeholders 28% · Rigour 42% · Clarity 94% · Applicability 46% · Independence 25%

Figures: Figures checked

Kim PJ, Attinger CE, Constantine T, Crist BD, Faust E, Hirche CR, Lavery LA, Messina VJ, Ohura N, Punch LJ, Wirth GA, Younis I, Téot L. Negative pressure wound therapy with instillation: international consensus guidelines update. Int Wound J. 2020;17(1):174–186.
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-07-27
Cohort / comparativeGRADE ⊕◯◯◯ Very low2020Context

NPWTi-d for bacterial decontamination before reconstruction

Negative pressure wound therapy with instillation and dwell time (NPWTi-d) with V.A.C. VeraFlo in traumatic, surgical, and chronic wounds — A helpful tool for decontamination and to prepare successful reconstruction — Diehm YF, Loew J, Will PA, Fischer S, Hundeshagen G, Ziegler B, et al · International Wound Journal 2020;17(6):1740–1749
What it found
  • Mean NPWTi-d duration 13 days; mean total hospitalisation 51 days.
  • Fully decontaminated wounds (no organisms detected) in 23% of cases after NPWTi-d.
  • Number of different bacterial species fell significantly from 2.38 to 1.16; bacterial count fell from 3.9 to 1.3.
  • The reduction held across all subgroups except surgical wounds, in which NPWTi-d did not significantly reduce bacterial count.
  • Significant stimulation of granulation tissue; successful reconstruction achieved in 90% of cases.
  • The authors state plainly that full justification for NPWTi-d in the literature is still lacking despite the increasing evidence.
Limitations
  • Retrospective, single-centre, 30 patients, no control group.
  • Only 23% achieved complete decontamination — the benefit is bioburden reduction, not sterilisation.
  • The surgical-wound subgroup showed no significant bacterial count reduction; this paper gives no support for decontamination.
  • Saline only; no comparison of instillation solutions. The filed PDF carries a "3M Internal Educational Use" watermark, though the journal article is open access.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 4 · The headline bioburden numbers do not reconcile with the paper's own subgroup means, and the bacterial count is not a count. The Methods define bacterial count as an ORDINAL RANK assigned by microbiologists: 1 few, 2 moderate, 3 several, 4 numerous. So the reported fall from 3.9 to 1.3 is a change in mean rank on a four-point scale, not a change in colony-forming units, and it is analysed by a signed-rank test. Now the arithmetic. The three wound-type subgroups are mutually exclusive and exhaustive: 12 traumatic, 10 surgical, 8 chronic, totalling 30. Number of different bacteria before therapy is 2.18, 2.24 and 2.2 in the three subgroups — Every one below the reported total of 2.38, which is impossible for a weighted average of a partition. The weighted mean is 2.21 [derived: 2.18 + 2.24 + 2.2, weighted 12/10/8 over 30]. After therapy the subgroups weight to 1.00 [derived: 0.77 + 1.15 + 1.17, weighted 12/10/8 over 30] against a printed 1.16. Bacterial count before weights to 3.34 [derived: 2.6 + 4.1 + 3.5, weighted 12/10/8 over 30] against a printed 3.9; after, to 1.55 [derived: 0.9 + 2.2 + 1.7, weighted 12/10/8 over 30] against a printed 1.3. And the surgical-wound baseline count is printed as 4.1 on a scale whose highest category is 4. The traumatic subgroup's post-therapy BACTERIAL COUNT of 0.9 (from 2.6) also falls below the scale minimum of 1, which is possible only if an undefined zero category was used. CORRECTION 2026-08-05, made once the OCRed text became readable: an earlier version of this note also cited 0.77 as breaching the scale minimum. It does not. 0.77 is the traumatic subgroup's post-therapy number of different bacteria (from 2.18) — a count of species, whose mean may take any positive value — not a bacterial-count rank. The scale-minimum objection applies to the ordinal BC measure only, and 0.9 is the single value that breaches it. The subgroup that matters most failed: in surgical wounds the bacterial count fell from 4.1 to 2.2 with P > .05, the largest absolute fall in the paper and the only one that is not significant. Complete decontamination was achieved in 7/30 (23%) — traumatic 4/12 (33%), surgical 2/10 (20%), chronic 1/8 (12.5%) — and that row does reconcile. One postoperative wound showed an INCREASE in the number of different species during therapy. Successful reconstruction 27/30 (90%) is the proportion who received a reconstructive procedure, not the proportion who healed; the three failures were inoperable and went to outpatient care. No healing outcome, no follow-up period and no loss-to-follow-up figure appears anywhere in the paper. Wound size is printed as a mean of 179 cm2 with a range of 16 to 1600 in the text and 6 to 1600 in Table 2, and the three subgroup means weight to 152.7 [derived: 134 + 179 + 148, weighted 12/10/8 over 30], not 179. Hospital stay is 51 days in the abstract and 52.6 in the Results and Table 4. Conflict of interest, verbatim: 'This is an investigator-initiated study. The V. A. C. VerFlo dressings for NPWTi-d were provided free of charge.' The supplier is not named. Funding, verbatim: 'Open access funding enabled and organized by Projekt DEAL', added by a correction on 7 November 2020.

Figures: Figures checked

Diehm YF, Loew J, Will PA, Fischer S, Hundeshagen G, Ziegler B, Gazyakan E, Kneser U, Hirche C. Negative pressure wound therapy with instillation and dwell time (NPWTi-d) with V.A.C. VeraFlo in traumatic, surgical, and chronic wounds — a helpful tool for decontamination and to prepare successful reconstruction. Int Wound J. 2020;17(6):1740–1749.
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-09-18

How the evidence points

HighMod.LowV. lowNone
Supports013016
Challenges00103

Sources tagged to this page, by direction and GRADE certainty (Mod. = Moderate, V. low = Very low, None = not graded). Context sources (no comparison, or a comparison that does not test NPWT) and retracted papers are not counted. How direction is decided.

Counted for the evidence position (direct evidence at GRADE High or Moderate): for NPWT: Milcheski 2025. Against: none. The rule.

Guidance

Guidelines
Kim 2020 international NPWTi-d consensus (AGREE II 3/7)

Scores are this library's AGREE II appraisal of each guideline (out of 7). About guideline quality.

Coding and funding (South Africa)
A research aid. Verify codes against the current ICD-10 MIT, scheme rules and the PMB regulations before submission.
ICD-10
T81.4, M72.66
PMB
via the underlying infected condition

All wound types: coding and funding

All 67 sources

More filters
Loading 67 sources…